Lesson # 42- Seek a quote and you may find an answer.

Who doesn’t love a good quote? They have the power to make us laugh, think, or overcome adversity. Consider some common quotes; “No pain, no gain.”, ” I have a dream…”, “With great power comes great responsibility.” What do they bring to mind for you? Isn’t it interesting how something so simple can evoke such a clear picture in your mind as well as a profound feeling in your heart? Granted not all quotes are meant to inspire, but even those are important in that they allow us to find the humor in things.

87292598da3205b5ac6cda466719b823

I love finding good quotes. I have a notebook page on my phone dedicated to quotes that I find while reading or watching a show/movie, I collect quotes on Pinterest, I even have a few quotes framed as artwork in my house. One of my greatest joys, however, is being able to apply a quote to any given situation. For example:

Situation One: I have to go out to a semi fancy dinner with a bunch of people that I don’t know (this is not fun for me). Quote: “Pour yourself a drink, put on some lipstick and pull yourself together.”    -Liz Taylor.

Situation Two: Riley is arguing with me. He says, “I’ll never be able to go to the zoo.”  Quote: “A lot can happen between now and never.” -Petyr Baelish, Game of Thrones.

Situation Three: I need directions. Quote: “Begin at the beginning and go on until you come to the end: then stop.” -Alice in Wonderland.

Situation Four: What do I make for dinner? Quote: “We elves try to stick to the four main food groups: candy, candy canes, candy corn, and syrup.” -Will Ferrell, Elf.

 

I mean really, I could go on and on. How much more enjoyable would life be if we could find answers to our problems in a few lines of brilliant text? Life: “We are so busy watching out for what’s just ahead of us that we don’t take time to enjoy were we are. “- Calvin and Hobbs; Driving: “Have you ever noticed how anybody driving slower than you is an idiot and anyone going faster than you is a maniac?”- George Carlin; Weather/maybe life: “The way I see it, if you want a rainbow, you gotta put up with the rain.” -Dolly Parton. Little gems like these are out there, just waiting to be used. It’s kind of comforting to know that these quotes were created because someone had experienced something similar to you and was able to find relief by connecting words to observation. I admit that I am not good enough at those connections to come up with a useful, original quote so it’s nice to have a few in my back pocket to pull out for a quick reality check.  Could they be useful to you? Go explore, find some that fit for you and tuck them away for that perfect moment. Who knows, you may even laugh a little.

337eacba152cd74f0c943d9224cfad6f ha, ha, ha, ha, ha

3 thoughts on “Lesson # 42- Seek a quote and you may find an answer.

  1. Good blog Jodi – I love quotes too and have many spots on different devices with which they are held. We should swap some! Keep up the great writing – I love to read them on my down time ; )

  2. Your Uncle and I collect quotes all the time for the yearly family calender. Maybe you could send him some of your favorite ones so he can use them on the calender. I know he’s just about ready to start putting it together for 21015.

Leave a Reply

