Lesson #33- “Time keeps on slippin’, slippin’, slippin’ into the future”

   Time is a constant reminder of how much control we don’t have. It moves despite us in ways that can feel both incredibly fast and gut wrenchingly slow. It causes us to prioritize what is important to us and it’s effects can leave us wondering where it went. If we lose sight of it, there are a number of different ways for it to snap us back into reality. Although the passing of time is inevitable, it doesn’t have to go as wasted. All we need to do is make better choices about what we need to pay attention to. Simple right? (She says sitting in front of a computer while there is a basket of laundry that needs to get washed)

    It is definitely not my intention to be a buzz kill on what I am hoping is an otherwise happy day, I am just freaking out a little as my son’s 6th birthday is rapidly approaching and it feels like he was just a baby yesterday. It is at these moments that I can not help but reflect on the passage of time and how I hope that my husband and I have done all that we could to make our son feel loved and important and special every day since the day he was born. He’s a good egg, so I know we have done some things right, but I still have that nagging feeling like I don’t choose to spend enough time with him. This reminds me of a quote from the movie Hook, “We have a few special years with our children, when they’re the ones that want us around. After that you’re going to be running after them for a bit of attention.” That just about kills me, but it’s true. It gives me the reality check that I need. It’s a reminder of how time can function.

   With that said, I will do what needs to get done around the house. I may even read since taking time for ones self is also important, but I look most forward to spending time playing dinosaur hunter with my son because I need to give him my attention while he still wants me to. Ugh, 6 years, how did it go by so fast?

2 thoughts on “Lesson #33- “Time keeps on slippin’, slippin’, slippin’ into the future”

  1. Jodi-I keep meaning to write to say “keep up the great blogging!” It is a fun way to write and share without having to be held to rules and regulations! I’ll look forward to being notified of future blogs! 🙂

    1. Thanks Katie! Such a weird thing, blogging, but it’s a fun way to write when I’m not writing other stuff. I’ve been reading yours as well, the latest, “Sorry” entry was so spot on. I need to figure out how to sign up to follow you!

Leave a Reply

